2014 RSU candidates named

The RSU elections will take place between Feb. 3-5.

The RSU elections will take place between Feb. 3-5. (Allie Coulman/Ryersonian staff)

The Ryerson Students’ Union announced Wednesday the names of candidates who will run in the upcoming election. 

The vote, which will take place Feb. 3-5, will determine the makeup of the RSU for the 2014-15 academic year.

The nomination period ran between Jan. 6 and Jan. 17 with potential candidates rallying for signatures of support across campus.

There will be an election debate on Jan. 28 from 12-4 p.m. which will take place in the Student Campus Centre on Gould Street, room SCC115.

The Breakdown:

“At Large Executives”

Here, you can vote for the president of the student union. You also have the option of voting for the vice-presidents in four categories: Operations, Campus Life, Equity and Education.

Those elected will represent both undergraduate and graduate students in their respective categories.

The 2014-15 candidates are:


Rajean Hoilett

Roble Mohamed

John Scott

VP Operations:

Dora Adobea – YES/NO vote

VP Campus Life:

Saphi Subendran – YES/NO vote

VP Equity:

Pascale Diverlus – YES/NO vote

VP Education:

Jesse Root – YES/NO vote


“Faculty Directors”

Each of the Ryerson faculties has a representative on the student union.

The 2014-15 candidates are:

Faculty of Arts:

Stephanie Stanov

Anuja Jeeva

Aisha Bartholomew

Jona Zyfi

Bianca Perry

Faculty of Community Services:

Nicole Castillo Guerrero

Daniela Glaser

Lan (Mary) Wei

Alfred Lam

Faculty of Communication and Design:

Amal Ahmed

Jessica Albotra

Krista Brown

Ted Rogers School of Management:

Ken Abescoro

Shayna Asgill

Muhammed Ur Rahman

Yannick Walcott

Shelly Campbell

My Nhung Le

Vladimir Bublik

Faculty of Engineering and Architecture:

Adrian Strupp

Trona J. St Omer

Behzad Taghizadeh

Faculty of Science:

Raquel Farache


“Graduate Representative Committee”

The members of the graduate representative committee are involved in student issues at the graduate level.

The 2014-15 candidates are:


Ali Naqvi

Deputy Chairperson Education:

Tu Tran

Waqas Manzoor

Deputy Chairperson Finance:

Chirag Bhatia

Michael Rososhansky

Deputy Chairperson Student Life and Events:

Nagina Shahasman

Voting will take place  Feb. 3-5 from 10:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. in the following locations:

1. ENG – Engineering Building Lobby
2. LIB 1 – Library Building Ground Floor
3. LIB 2 – Library Building Second Floor
4. SHE – Sally Horsfall Eaton Centre Ground Floor
5. IMG – Image Arts Building Lobby
6. TRS 1 – Ted Rogers School of Management 7th Floor
7. TRS 2 – Ted Rogers School of Management 8th Floor
8. RCC – Rogers Communications Centre Lobby
9. KHE – Kerr Hall Eat 1st Floor near Room 127

Check back daily for campaign coverage and candidate profiles.

Comments are closed.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
Read previous post:
Social media driving Ryerson students to go on exchange

Social media brings the world to students and is encouraging them to go out and see the world. “Once classmates...