Rams recognized with four individual honours

Wise won the OUA West Coach of the Year for the second time coaching the Rams.

Graham Wise won the OUA West Coach of the Year for the second time. (Ryersonian Staff Photo)

The awards just keep on coming for the Ryerson Rams.

Graham Wise won OUA West Coach of the Year and Domenic Alberga won Rookie of the Year as the Ryerson men’s hockey team won two additional honours, Ryerson Athletics announced Wednesday.

“It felt pretty good to know that I had accomplished something that I didn’t think I could accomplish, so I was excited,” Alberga said. “But in the end, it’s there, it’s happened, I have to back it up sort of thing by playing well in the playoffs, and that’s exactly what happened against Brock but we kind of shut down against Lakehead.”

Wise led the Rams to a franchise-record 17 wins en route to an OUA West semifinal finish, while Alberga became just the second men’s hockey player to capture Rookie of the Year honours since 1999 after leading the rookie scoring race with 44 points.

“It’s nice when your peers vote you so I’m honoured that I got voted ‘Coach of the Year’  but there are a lot of people that go behind the scenes that allow a person to get the award,” said Wise, who won the award for the second time with the Rams.

“Hats off to our scouts, my assistant coaches and the players who put the results up every week on the ice.”

First-year defenceman Peter Hermenegildo and second-year froward Jamie Wise were also named OUA West first-team all-stars, while Alberga was named to the OUA West’s second all-star team.

Wise finished second in OUA in scoring with 45 points in what was his first full year with the Rams. The coach’s son put up 14 points in 12 games last year.

Despite being in his first year of eligibility, Hermenegildo, 22, did not qualify for rookie accolades because he is a year older than the maximum age of 21.

Here is a full list of the 2013-14 OUA WEST Major Honours:

Most Valuable Player, presented by Harrow Sports Canada – Zach Harnden – Western
Most Sportsmanlike – Steven Reese – Western
Top Defencemen – Ken Peroff – Guelph
Top Goaltender – Josh Unice – Western
Rookie of the Year – Domenic Alberga – Ryerson
Randy Gregg Award – Matt Abercrombie – Brock
Coach of the Year – Graham Wise – Ryerson

  • First Team All-Stars 

Jamie Wise – Ryerson
Zach Harnden – Western
Daniel Erlich – Western

Ken Peroff – Guelph
Peter Hermenegildo – Ryerson

Josh Unice – Western

  • Second team all-stars

Domenic Alberga – Ryerson
Matt Clarke – Western
Nick Huard – Guelph

Joe Underwood – Waterloo
Mike Quesnele – Lakehead

Parker Van Buskirk – Windsor

  • All-Rookie Team

Domenic Alberga – Ryerson
Cody Alcock – Lakehead
Mac McDonnell – Windsor

Julian Luciani – Windsor
Stephen Silas – Waterloo

Justin McDonald – Lakehead

Comments are closed.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
Read previous post:
RyersonianTV: Police use rubber bullets on unprovoked protesters in Venezuela

RyersonianTV is a daily newscast produced by the School of Journalism's Masthead class. Watch us live, Monday to Friday at...