John Tory with campaign aide Christopher Eby on the day of the election.

Mayor-elect John Tory names his transition team

The team that will help transition John Tory into his role as mayor includes key members of his campaign team, mayoral candidate David Soknacki, and non-profit, business and academic leaders.

Tory announced on Tuesday afternoon that Christopher Eby, a former National Post and CTV journalist-turned communications expert who previously worked on Tory’s campaign, will be his new chief of staff.

“I’m honoured to have been asked to take on this role and, along with the Mayor-elect, I’m eager to get down to work getting results for the residents of Toronto,” Eby said.

Tory will have two teams, both led by former deputy mayor Case Ootes. Ootes also led Rob Ford’s transition team in 2010.

“The best transition team is people that have the knowledge of city hall both at bureaucracy and the political scene,” Ootes said. “But also some outside people that will have a fresh perspective.”

The transition team includes Eby, former Conservative MP candidate Vic Gupta, and campaign strategist Nick Kouvalis.

A second team, the advisory council, will include former Queen’s Park speaker Alvin Curling, Ryserson University President Sheldon Levy and Pan Am CEO Saad Rafi.

Ootes said the teams will provide advice in confidence to Tory. The advisory council will focus on three issues: transportation planning and SmartTrack, congestion and gridlock, and housing.

David Soknacki, who dropped out of the mayoral race after receiving much acclaim for his thorough approach to policy, was named one of 20 members of the advisory council.

“His name’s come up some time ago,” Ootes said. “I think it’s important that he be part of this because he did run. He had some good ideas and we want to take advantage of that.

The full list of the new teams:

Transition team

  • Case Ootes, former deputy mayor
  • Rod Phillips, chair of CivicAction
  • Christopher Eby, chief of staff to the Mayor-elect
  • Vic Gupta, principal secretary to the Mayor-elect
  • Joe Halstead, former commissioner of economic Development for the city
  • Nick Kouvalis, Tory campaign advisor
  • Susan McIsaac, president and CEO of the United Way Toronto
  • Arthur Lofsky, former advisor to Ontario Finance Ministers Sobara and Duncan
  • Shirley Hoy, former Toronto city manager
  • Teresa Di Felice, director of government and community relations, for CAA South Central Ontario.
  • Transition Advisory Council

  • Geoff Cape, founder and CEO of Evergreen
  • Ken Chan, vice-president of advocacy, research and healthcare for Cystic Fibrosis Canada
  • Alvin Curling, former speaker in the Ontario Legislature
  • Mohamed Dhanani, executive officer for Ismaili Council of Canada
  • Michelle DiEmanuele, president and CEO of Trillium Health Partners
  • Robert Foster, founder and president of Capital Canada
  • Nikki Holland, director of public affairs for Carpenters’ District Council of Ontario
  • Blake Hutcheson, president and CEO of Oxford Properties
  • Sharifa Khan, board member for Metro Toronto Convention Centre
  • Sheldon Levy, president of Ryerson University;
  • Marnie McBean, Olympian;
  • Eric Miller, University of Toronto professor
  • Micheal Nobrega, former president and CEO of Omers
  • Gail Nyberg, executive director of the Daily Bread Food Bank
  • Sevaun Palvetzian, CEO of the Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance

  • Rod Phillips, chair of CivicAction;
  • Saad Rafi, CEO of the 2015 Pan Am and Parapan Am Games
  • David Soknacki, former Toronto city councillor
  • Steve Upton, vice president of Tridel and chair of BILD (Building Industry and Land Development Association)
  • Gordon Cressy, president of George Brown College Foundation
  • MORE

    Mayor-elect John Tory wants opponents Olivia Chow, David Soknacki on his team

    More from The Star & Partners

    More News

    Top Stories