RSU Election Results: Impact sweeps the executive vote

(Dylan Bell/Ryersonian Staff)

Impact Ryerson celebrated their win at the Ram in the Rye Wednesday night. (Dylan Bell/Ryersonian Staff)

By Deven Knill and Jacqueline Tucci

The results are in and Obaid Ullah will be the new president of the Ryerson Students’ Union (RSU).

After a short campaign, all executive candidates on Impact Ryerson slate, which Ullah leads, won their bids in the 2016 Ryerson Student Union (RSU) student elections.

“I feel good, we worked hard. Last year it was easier to gauge what was going on than this year, with online voting, but it was good,” said Harman Singh, who was re-elected as vice-president student life and events.

Online voting was introduced this year for the first time in RSU elections history.

Impact Ryerson’s campaign was based on four pillars: mental health, transit, experimental learning and access to education.

The winning RSU executive candidates are:

  • Obaid Ullah, president
  • Victoria Morton, vice-president education
  • Tamara Jones, vice-president equity
  • Neal Muthreja, vice-president operations
  • Harman Singh, vice-president student life and events

Impact candidates dominated the Faculty Director elections as well. In the Faculties of Communication and Design, Engineering and Architecture, Science, and the Ted Rogers School of Management, they won every seat.

RU Connected found their most success in the Faculty of Community Services, where they won four seats, compared to Impacts single win, and in the Faculty of Arts, RU Connected’s Angelo Robb won his spot, while Impact picked up two seats.

Impact’s Ali Yousaf won the position of International Student Representative.

Infuse, independent candidates, and the satirical Rhino Party did not win any seats but all candidates did receive votes.

RSU Executives

Obaid Ullah, Impact 2448
Awo Abokor, RU Connected 1193
Dara Vosoughi, Independent 151

Vice-President Education
Victoria Morton, Impact 2391
Martin Fox, RU Connected 1164

Vice-President Equity
Tamara Jones, Impact 2072
Susanne Nyaga, RU Connected 1045
Andrew Maclean-Bowman, Rhino 363

Vice-President Operations
Neal Muthreja, Impact 2206
Arman Adeli, RU Connected 1234

Vice-President Student Life and Events
Harman Singh, Impact 2365
Rumana Fardaush, RU Connected 1178
Faculty Directors

Daniel Lis, Impact 170
Angelo Robb, RU Connected 157
Marzia Riaz, Impact 152

Communications and Design
Katii Capern, Impact 446
William Fraser, Impact 421
Kelly Kitagawa, Impact 410
Eleanor Ching Yee Kuan, Impact 404

Community Services
Abisola Asha, RU Connected 257
Anna Stevenson, RU Connected 251
Michael Freidman, Impact 232
Dahab Ibrahim, RU Connected 231
Chrys Saget-Richard, RU Connected 219

Engineering and Architecture
Naveed Kahn, Impact 569
Monica Kwong, Impact 520
Michael Foppiano, Impact 514
Ruken Dilsah Izol, Impact 487

Robinder Jangi, Impact 251
Maryam Golbazi, Impact 203

Ted Rogers School of Management
Anthony Esguerra, Impact 573
Nasrudin Mumin, Impact 561
Nav Marwah, Impact 542
Michelle Park, Impact 506
Sandra Bahoua, Impact 494

International Student Representative
Ali Yousaf, Impact 89
Sohaib Hassan, RU Connected 45


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen − 12 =

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
Read previous post:
Battle of the Bands competition coming to Hard Rock Cafe

Mark your calendars, because Ryerson’s annual Battle of the Bands competition is returning to the Hard Rock Cafe March 10.